I have already talked about Accountability and why you need it.  Today I want to talk about a prayer binder and how to get started.  First of all, I will tell you why I chose to put together a prayer journal.  Right now I have 3 small children and I can honestly tell you my memory is awful at best.  I was praying but I was not praying like I should have been and I would write requests on random pieces of paper.  My prayer binder is still a work in progress, but it is progress.

First of all I went on a search and found some examples here, here and here and an excellent example here.    I have a tab for “everyday” and then one for each day of the week.  I pray for my husband and kids everyday and then I put different people to pray for on the other days of the week.

One of the keys to praying is using Scripture.  This is what I am working on right now.  My friend gave me a page of verses to pray for my husband.  I am also going through the series Power of a Praying Parent and I plan to put together my prayers from this in a 30 day format – one category for each day of the month since this is a 30 week series.

On this blog (Across My Kitchen Table), she starts out with this:

Section I — ADORATION

A. Praise.
1. Attributes of God. Choose 10 (or more) attributes of God that you want to praise Him for. Make a page for each one. For each attribute, write out at least 3 Scripture verses which mention or describe that attribute. Some examples of attributes would be holiness, righteousness, sovereignty, omniscience, etc. At the bottom of each page, write a brief statement or prayer describing why you praise God for that particular attribute.

Now this is what I am working on now.  I am putting together several attributes of God and am putting some verses down as well.   I highly recommend “The Attributes of God” by Arthur Pink to really help you with verses for each attribute.

If you would like to put together a prayer binder, I suggest you get a binder whether it is a full size or half size and then at least get the tabs and next week I will show you pictures of mine and tell you what I pray for on each day.

This has really helped me especially on the mornings that I have not gotten much sleep the night before.  I just open up to my days and I can look up some Scripture and pray for those that I need to pray for.

Does anyone else have a prayer binder?  How do you organize your’s?

Part II