I have been wanting to experiment with Slow Cooker freezer kits – the ultimate in easy cooking.  I wanted something that I could just pull out of my freezer and dump into my Crock Pot and make.  Well, I found a winner!  I am sorry I took several pictures of some of my other freezer meals but I did not take one of this one.

The recipe is from here.  Most of you that have seen my blog know I try to do freezer cooking.  I take whole chickens and boil them and make broth and then I have the meat leftover.  I use this in a lot of things.  This recipe is one of them!  When I do my OAMC I do this on my prep day and then I do the assembly the next day.

Now, here is the original recipe:

1 pound of cooked, or practically cooked chicken, cubed or shredded
–1 small sweet potato, peeled and cut in 1-inch chunks (optional.) *I did not use this.
–1 red onion, diced (optional)
–1 cup frozen or fresh corn
–1 bottle of your favorite barbecue sauce (18 oz)
–1/4 cup hot water

cornbread topping:

use a mix and follow the directions on the box (minus the oil or butter), or mix together the following:

–3/4 cup corn meal
–1 1/4 cups of flour (I used a Bob Red’s Mill GF mix–we were out of Pamela’s)
–1 cup milk
–1/4 cup sugar
–1 egg
–1 tsp baking powder (only if using regular all-purpose flour)

The Directions.

I used a 4 qt round crockpot for this—it was the perfect size.

Spray the inside of your stoneware with cooking spray. Cut up the chicken and sweet potato, and add to the crock. Add the corn. Empty the contents of the barbecue sauce bottle, and then add 1/4 cup of hot water to the bottle, shake, and pour that out, too. Mix well with a spoon.

In a separate bowl, mix together the cornbread topping. You don’t need to mix well, I just used a fork. Spread the topping on to the chicken mixture.

Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Ours cooked on low for exactly 6. If you are planning on being out of the house, cook for the shorter amount of time. You can always switch to high to brown the top when you get home.

There you have the original recipe, now to make it a freezer kit this is what you do:

  1. Label the freezer bag.  Empty the contents of the barbecue sauce bottle, and then add 1/4 cup of hot water to the bottle, shake, and pour that out, too put it into a gallon size freezer bag.  Use shredded chicken from prep day and dump in next (and add onion now too) and then add the corn.
  2. Now get a quart size freezer bag and label that “cornbread”.  Also, put a star on the bag and say ADD EGG.  In the bag, mix together the cornbread topping ingredients EXCEPT THE EGG. You don’t need to mix well, I just closed the bag and squished it all together. I have heard you cannot freeze a whole egg so I just decided to be on the safe side and not include that.  Now if you want to print a label to put on your bag here is one:

Crock pot BBQ Chicken and Cornbread casserole – Thaw overnight, add egg to cornbread topping and squish around till mixed.  Dumb gallon size freezer bag contents into slow cooker first and smooth over.  Then dump the cornbread topping on top.  Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

To freeze the bags I squeeze the air out and lay them flat on a cookie sheet and set them in freezer until they are pretty much frozen.  This way they are flat and don’t take up much room.  Just remove the cookie sheet and store the bags in the freezer once they are frozen.

**This was so easy on the day of and it tasted so yummy.  I do love barbecue sauce so I did love this.  It works for me.  I should also say that if you don’t want to do a big OAMC, just make this for your family but triple the recipe and freeze two of them for the next two months or keep one for you family and give one to someone who just had a new baby.

For more Works for Me Wednesdays, go here.