I have been using a recipe for cookies that my friend posted on her blog.  I liked the original version, but I soon made my own changes and now I really love the cookies.  I thought I should actually write down the recipe so I can remember my changes.

3 1/4 cup flour (I have used just white; white and whole wheat and just whole wheat)

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 1/3 cup butter (softened) (or use 2/3 cup of butter and 2/3 cup of coconut oil – so yummy)

2 eggs

1 t. vanilla

1 t. salt

1 t. baking soda

12 oz. chocolate chips

Cream together the sugars and butter (butter/coconut oil).  Add eggs and vanilla and mix well.  Add the flour, salt and baking soda.  Dough will be stiff.  Then add the chocolate chips.  Mix well.

Place cookie dough on cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes.

This recipe makes 4 dozen 2 1/2 inch cookies (according to the original recipe).

Tips:  I always set the timer for 8 minutes and then check the cookies because it is better to slightly under cook them and then let them finish “baking” on the cookie sheet while they cool.  Usually if the edges are browned they are done.

Use a cookie scoop for evenly round cookies.

You also can freeze the cookie dough.  You can freeze it in a log shape or you can scoop the cookie dough into a cookie sheet, flash freeze it, then put those into a Ziploc gallon bag.

This post is listed at Blessed with GraceTempt my Tummy Tuesday and Balancing Beauty and BedlamTasty Tuesday.

