You may ask why I am talking about memorizing Scripture with my prayer binder.  Well, I will tell you.  Sometimes we really need to pray for people at a time when we do not have a Bible or any book with verses in them.  Here is where knowing God’s Word comes in VERY handy.  I keep my verses in the folder of my prayer binder so I will see them everyday when I open my binder.

I have talked about this before, but a great place to start with memorizing Scripture is with the Navigator’s Topical Memory System.  This system actually puts verses into “categories” so if you need to think up a verse about God’s strength you immediately think of Isaiah 41:10.  If you need a verse about prayer – Phil. 4:6&7.  I have went to these verses many times when I am out or when I find something out that needs immediate prayer.  I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to have these verses commited to memory.

Now I personally am almost done with this system which is over 50 verses.  My friend Angel and I are really close to being done (I have to memorize 3 this week to be done and she only has to memorize one).  So you see, it really helps you to have someone to keep you accountable to keep memorizing.

Right now I am trying to decide what to memorize next.  I wanted to start memorizing books of the Bible, but I think I am going to memorize the verses for parenting from this resource, Wise Words for Moms.

Once I am done with that I think I will start with memorizing Philippians since I have so many verses from it memorized and it is only 4 chapters.

What have you all been memorizing and how do you decide what to memorize?

