I will share a secret with you all.  It isn’t a super exciting secret and it won’t really be a secret now, but I have always wanted to adopt.  I will tell you when I first had this itch.  I remember it very clearly.  I was a youngster, maybe 10 or so and some missionaries came to our church.  They did what missionaries usually do – they spoke about their country and then they showed slides of the people they were ministering to.  Oh how my heart ached, and how I actually was angry.  I looked around at us all and how comfortable we were and how we would all leave that night and go home to our warm houses and then nothing.  What would we do about those people?  Who would help them?

These are the things that were going through my 10 year old mind.  But what really tugged at my heart where the pictures of the little ones.  I have always loved children and to see what those children looked like really killed me.  I decided then that if I ever could make it happen I would adopt.

Well, that was a 10 year old talking.  Now I am an adult and there are so many things to think about when one adopts.  I am speaking as a person who knows virtually nothing about the adoption process.

I do have 3 kids and a husband who works very hard to support us so that I can stay home with our children.  Adoption is expensive.  How will our children feel about another person who may not look like them coming into our home?  How will we feel?  How will it affect our marriage?

All good questions right?  None of which I considered when I was ten.  These are things that I must consider now.  For me I look at it as something I should do, no I must do.  I tend to jump into things with both feet and throw caution to the wind.  This is why God gave me the husband that I have.  He thinks things through.  He looks at them logically.

But logic and I – we aren’t friends, not even a little bit.  I tend to jump over logic to see if something could be done anyway no matter what “logic” says.

I am telling you this because it is on my heart more and more each day especially now that my husband and I might (probably, okay the surgery is scheduled) be done having our own kids.  I think I can be okay with not having anymore biological children if I know more children are coming into my house that I don’t actually have to give birth to.

But for now I am sticking with prayer because I do know that my husband and I have to be agreed in order to adopt and I honestly would never want to jeopardize our marriage for something that I want and he doesn’t.  The great thing about him is that he thinks of our needs first and he watches out for me and he helps me make sure that I don’t overwhelm myself which I always usually tend to do.

I am not sure why I shared this, but I felt the need to just because it has been on my heart and maybe because I was reading this story and this story.

For now though prayer works wonders.

1 Peter 5:7 – casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

