For Menu Planning Part I go hereOn this post The Happy Housewife recommends adding 5 more meals (which I already did on my last post) and making a list of side items.  I really try to keep sides so simple.  I usually have brown rice cooked and frozen.  I steam all of my frozen veggies in my Pampered Chef microwave steamers (because it is easy and takes 5 minutes).  I usually just add a little butter and garlic powder to the veggies.  For the beans I just heat them up on the stove until heated through and I sometimes will add bacon grease (I know) and garlic powder or salt.  I am also adding a list of go-to breakfasts and lunches to make it easier.

Here are the sides we enjoy:

Sides

Brown Rice

Butter almond green beans (I use my frozen green beans for this instead of my canned)

Steamed broccoli, peas or corn

Apples

Applesauce

Spinach Salad with sliced almonds and cheese

Baked Potatoes

Baked Beans

Carrots

Black-eyed peas

Butter beans

These are may daily go-tos but I also make mashed potatoes, scalloped potatoes and sweet potatoes on occasion.  I try to make the side items easy and mostly veggies.

Snacks:
Protein Bar (still looking for a good homemade recipe version)

Fiber One Bar

String Cheese

Almonds

Yogurt

Popcorn

Peanut butter and celery

Fruit – bananas, apples, oranges, grapes (whatever I have on hand)

Desserts:

Chocolate Chip cookies

Fudge Brownies

No Bake Cookie Bars

Breakfast:

Blueberry Overnight Coffee Cake

Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal

Whole Wheat Waffles or pancakes, syrup, and banana

Banana Sour Cream Bread (or muffins)

Scrambled eggs, turkey bacon and fruit

Cottage cheese, pineapple, toast and jam

Fruit smoothie

Yogurt, granola and berries

Lunch:

Pita pizzas and an apple

FlatOut Wraps or whole wheat tortillas, do the following:

Chicken, BBQ sauce and spinach; lunch meat, spinach and cheese; pizza sauce and cheese (baked as a pizza) and fruit

Soup and fruit

Chicken Fried Rice and fruit

Lunch  meat sandwich, veggie soup and apple

Vegetarian tostada and fruit

Grilled Chicken Salad and fruit

Grilled chicken taco and fruit

PBJ and applesauce and carrots

This Works for me!

