I am starting my own Menu Planning series since everyone else has one.  Just kidding that is not why I am doing it.  I am doing it because I did this myself and I thought I would share the steps that I went through.  I like doing OAMC and I love that I don’t have to fix dinner every night.  But I still think I could refine things more and that is why I am doing this.  If you are dying to know more, stay tuned for Part II-V in the coming days.

I was inspired by this post from The Happy Housewife, so my first step is to list some family favorites recipes.  The recipes are in no particular order.

Creamy Chicken Casserole

Tacos or Nachos

Alfredo Sauce – to be used for chicken alfredo pizza or fettuccine alfredo

Vegetarian Tostadas: Crisp a whole wheat tortilla in a 350 degree oven; meanwhile heat up fat free or vegetarian refried beans with a little taco sauce.  Spread beans over crisp tortillas and add toppings of your liking – lettuce, black olives, cheese, onions, whatever

Crock pot BBQ Beef and Bean

BBQ chicken and cornbread casserole

Bacon and Cheese Chicken

Zesty BBQ Slow Cooker Chicken

BBQ Chicken, Bacon and cheese quesadillas (using leftover Zesty BBQ Chicken) – good to freeze for quick lunches!

Sloppy Joes – or my MIL’s (Brown 1 lb of hamburger.  Drain.  Turn heat to low and add 1/3 – 1/2 c each of ketchup and BBQ sauce.  Also add some minced onions, either dried or the real thing, according to taste.  Add salt, pepper and any other spices that speak to you at the moment.  Heat through and serve on buns.)

Chicken Bombay

Crock pot BBQ Pork Chops

Chicken Taco Casserole

Teriyaki Pork Chops

Bestest Hamburger Soup

Cheeseburger Soup

Boneless Chicken Fingers with Honey BBQ Sauce

Lemon Garlic Chicken (pg. 50 of cookbook)

Beef and Broccoli Stir Fry (pg. 50 of cookbook)

Pork Chop, Apple and Sweet Potato packets (pg. 98 of cookbook)

Chicken Fried Rice –

Chicken Fried Rice from my cousin
3 – 4 chicken breasts
4 t. oil
8 t. soy sauce
8 green onions chopped
1 -2 c. chopped bell peppers
4 eggs
1 t. garlic powder or fresh minced garlic (about 4 cloves)
4 T. sliced almonds (opt) I left these out because i didn’t have any…
Crushed red pepper flakes (opt.)
Prepare rice and set aside.
Rinse chicken breasts and pat dry.  Cut into strips
Spray skillet and heat over med. heat.
Whisk egg and add to skillet.  Cook til set.  Remove & set aside.
Heat oil in same skillet.  Add chicken and cook til done.  Remove from skillet and set aside.
Add veggies and garlic and cook 4 – 5 min.
Add rice, chicken, eggs, soy sauce and stir and cook til warmed through.
Sprinkle with almonds and crushed red pepper flakes

This post is listed at:

Blessed with Grace’s Tempt My Tummy Tuesday

Menu Planning Part II

Menu Planning Part III

Menu Planning Part IV

Menu Planning Part V


