Have you felt my blahness lately?  I am a bit blah.  It could be that it is January and it is cold and it gets dark at 5:30.  I never thought I would be so excited to see 40 degrees but I am very excited that it will be 40 degrees very soon!  It is the little things, am I right?

The reason I titled this post “Perspective” is because I really have been blah lately.  Something has been off and I just cannot put my finger on it.  I listen to a lot of talk radio.  I really like listening to our local Moody station.  Yesterday I was listening to a woman from Africa talk of how she had become HIV positive and so had her husband.  She became a Christian and started ministering to the people around her.   She was asked to speak in New York City.  When she and her husband got to the hotel, the people that had asked them to speak had ordered room service.  This lady had never been to America.  So when she got the room service she became very sad.  I think she said she started crying and she couldn’t even eat the food.

She asked her husband how it was possible that all of that food was just for them.  She said it could have fed a whole family back where she was from.  She could not believe that Americans lived this way and there were so many in her country that could hardly find food.  Then her husband said, “Maybe they do not know.  And maybe that is why you are here to tell them.”  She said she immediately felt better and she knew she must tell everyone what HIV was doing to her country and how people were living.

I told you that story to tell you this – my dad called me after I had heard this story.  And I was feeling a bit down and he asked me how I was doing and I answered “I’m okay.”  Then I thought for a minute and I told my dad, “No I am better than okay.  I cannot possibly say that I am just okay after the story I heard today.”

So, perspective – I may have some little problems but I am immensely thankful for the blessings that I have everyday.  Sometimes I just need a little perspective.

Philippians 4:19 – And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

