I know I changed my blog to be Christmassy but I just had to.  I know it is cheesy but it is festive and I like it.

I called my stepmother to get my grandmother’s recipe because I knew she would have something written down and my grandma would say that she just threw this and that in it and wouldn’t have any measurements or anything.  As soon as I made this the house smelled just like my grandma’s house used to when I was little.  It made me think of my grandpa.  He loved my grandma’s Boy Scout Casserole.  Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 lb. hamburger

Potato (1 per person), thinly sliced

corn

onion

green peppers

salt and pepper

cheese

Instructions:

Form hamburger into patties.  Brown the patties.  The hamburger doesn’t have to be done.  It will be done when you bake the packets.  Take a large square of foil and spray with cooking spray.  Layer the casserole onto the foil as follows:

potatoes, salt and pepper, hamburger patties, more potatoes if you want, chopped onion, green peppers and frozen corn

Close up the packets tightly and cook in a 400 degree oven for 45-60 minutes.  Check for the tenderness of the potatoes.  When the potatoes are tender, take out the packets and open them and sprinkle with cheese and close the packets back and let them sit for 5 minutes to melt.

Yes it looks seriously messy but I have to say it is REALLY good.  It is very simple but very good and easy.  I asked my grandma where she got this recipe and she said she got it from a neighbor whose children were in the Boy Scouts, but of course my grandma added her own twist to this.  It usually included Velveeta at the end but I just used mozzarella.   Another great thing about this recipe – clean up is a snap!

