This will probably be another random posts.  You love them don’t you?  I have lots of things on my mind lately and it is getting more difficult to focus on one thing at a time.  Even my little daughter is starting to multi-task.  She was pretending to talk on my cell phone while putting away some candles that she had gotten down.  My husband and I looked knowingly at each other.

I just wanted to share some things I have been thinking about.

You should go over and read a post by Lindsay at Passionate Homemaking.  Her blog is so wonderful.  She is so encouraging and practical.  She suggests we take a weekly planning and praying retreat.

I have been thinking a lot about food storage lately.  I know you all probably know of the Prudent Homemaker blogs.  Her food organization is awesome.  Now I just have to figure out where to start, where to store my food and how to convince my husband we need a year’s worth of food (ha, ha, ha – I am laughing at the thought of this).  I am going to set aside some of my grocery budget for 5 gallon food storage buckets and gamma lids.  I use A LOT of flour.  And I just discovered that they sell a 50 lb. bag of popcorn at Sam’s.  Oh, I will be getting that tomorrow.  We go through popcorn like nobody’s business.

Makenna's birthday andf Missouri 133

Also, regarding homeschooling, I am feeling more and more like I should.  I am doing a little bit, but I am keeping it super simple.  I have talked about it before.  Right now I am working through the book Teach your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons.  He is doing so well.  I cannot believe it.  We don’t follow the book completely.  We don’t do the writing exersizes.  We just sit on the couch and do about 5-10 minutes a day.  I highly recommend this book because I have a boy who doesn’t like to focus that much or sit still and he does this book and he is reading some words and short sentences.  It is so amazing watching your child learn to read right there beside you while you are teaching him.

We are also working on “character training”.  I am having the kids (my 4 and 2 year old) sit on the couch with some books.  They sit quietly and are not allowed to get up and are only allowed to whisper.  Last week we did this for 5 minutes at a time.  This week we are doing 10 minutes at a time and I hope to work up to at least 30 minutes.  I make them run around the house and do jumping jacks after it though.  It seems to be working pretty well.  I am doing this so that they can learn some self discipline and also be able to sit quietly while in church or other places.

We start the morning with reading some Bible stories and going over our memory verses.  I am relaxed and we do most of it on the couch after breakfast.

Anyway, those are some things that we have been working on.  I told you this was going to be random. What have you all been up to?  I want to know.

