mpm3

***Don’t forget about the Sunday Dinner Challenge***

Well, Sunday dinner did not happen again this week but not because we did not plan to have it.  My two youngest children came down with pink eye yesterday and since they are contagious for 24 hours I didn’t want my cousin’s children to get it so we had to reschedule for NEXT Sunday.  Hopefully everyone will be healthy by then.

I just cannot seem to find a time to schedule a big cook so I haven’t done an OAMC session yet, but I am planning one maybe the second week in November.  I am also planning to freeze some Thanksgiving items too like pies and sweet potatoe bake.

This past week though I did buy the 4 chickens as I said and I roasted one and boiled the other 3 to make shredded chicken and chicken broth.

chicken 001

I made the Chili Garlic Paste and mixed it.  So this week’s menu includes:

chicken 002

Sour Cream Enchiladas (I substitute chili powder for the green chilies so they are not too spicy)

Chicken and noodles from the freezer – didn’t get to it last week

Pizza (homemade or not)

Breakfast for dinner – we didn’t do this last week either – it was a rough week

My sister’s orange chicken (recipe below)

And leftovers!

Kristen’s Orange Chicken Recipe

Ingredients:
1 3 lb. bag of boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces
2 tbl. cornstarch
2/3 c. orange juice (sometimes i squeeze my own, but usually just buy a carton)
2 tbl. soy sauce
4 tbl. honey
2 tbl. white wine vinegar
1 tbl. Asian chili sauce
2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
4 tbl. vegetable oil
2 tbl. minced garlic
1 sweet red bell pepper
Snow peas (as many as you like)
grated orange (1 orange, make sure to grate the whole thing, this is what really gives it the orange flavor)

Toss chicken and cornstarch and set aside.
Wisk:
Orange juice, soy sauce, honey, white wine vinegar, Asian chili sauce, cayenne pepper, and ginger together in a small sauce pan. Put on low heat.

On medium-high preheat vegetable oil in wok or pan with high sides.
Stir fry garlic for 30 seconds.  Do not let it burn.
Add orange peel, red pepper, and snow peas and stir fry until crisp-tender.
Add chicken and sauce and stir constantly for 3-5 minutes or until chicken is done.

Pour mixture over rice and enjoy!

For more menu plans, please visit Org Junkie!

