mpm3

***Don’t forget about the Sunday Dinner Challenge***

Well, Sunday dinner did not happen this week.  We were suppose to go to lunch after church with friends, but my husband had to go into work earlier so we were not able to go.  My cousin and her husband and children are coming for Sunday Supper next week though.

My pastor’s wife shared a story with me.  She said that when her husband was a seminary student they visited several churches.  They went to one and it was their first Sunday there.  They were introduced to a couple.  The couple asked my pastor and his wife over that very day for Sunday dinner.  She had the meal in the oven ready for when they got home.

Isn’t that wonderful?   She was prepared for whoever might be coming that day.  We should all be so generous.  This is what being prepared looks like.  If we are prepared, we are better able to welcome others into our home and to practice hospitality.

Romans 12:9-13

9Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. 10Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves. 11Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. 12Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. 13Share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.

What a wonderful testimony this lady had and my pastor’s wife remembered it many years later.

Well, hopefully we can all make that a goal and work on being able to do that.  Now, onto the menu planning:

I am going to buy several whole chickens and below is my plan for what I want to do with them.

Rapid Roast Whole Chicken

With the other chickens I will do my chicken mix.

With my cooked chicken I will make several meals:

Chicken Bombay (2)

Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas (2)

Chicken and Dumplings (2)

Chicken Fried Rice

Creamy Chicken Casserole

Chicken, bacon and cheese quesidillas

With Boneless Skinless Chicken breasts (which I buy in bulk from Sam’s) I will make:

Brown Sugar Chicken

Slow Cooker Orange Chicken

I plan to buy 5-10 lbs. of ground beef and make meat mix which can be used for several meals.

As for this week’s plan:

Beans and cornbread (I didn’t get to this last week.)

Chicken and Noodles (thanks Kelly) and green beans

Rapid Roast Whole Chicken, potatoes and salad

Breakfast for dinner (didn’t do this last week either)

Pizza – homemade or Little Caesar’s

Out to dinner with hubby

For more menu ideas, please visit Laura at Org Junkie.

