mpm3

Well, you might get sick of me harping on Sunday Dinner, but I am continuing the challenge because I now see how badly we all need it!  It is truly sad how many people do not have dinner or supper with their families on Sunday.  So, please go back and visit my Sunday Dinner Challenge.  Leave me a comment and let me know if you have been trying to do it or if you already do it and what works for you.

My Sunday Dinner was a bust today.  I decided to make Cheeseburger Soup.  I made a big pot of it yesterday and I planned to make Buttery bread machine rolls (oh so good), but my family was a no show today.   For various reasons they could not come today.  So sorry honey but we will be having Cheeseburger soup for a few days.

I will not give up though.  I plan to just have an open invitation and if they show up, I will be ready and if they don’t, well my house will be clean and we will have plenty of leftovers.  We will see how next week goes.

I made a few good things this week.  One of which was a recipe that I got from my husband’s cousin (thanks Trudy).  It was fried apple pies and they were a big hit with my husband (and me).  The kids didn’t get any because we ate them all.

Food

What good things have you been making lately?

Now onto my menu plan.  I am still using up stuff in my freezer and pantry.  I hope to do another OAMC this month once we run out of food from the freezer.

Cheeseburger Soup and homemade bread – made this instead of enchilada casserole

Cube steak and gravy, mashed potatoes and green beans (times 2 – taking some to a friend)

Quiche in a bag (didn’t get to this last week)

Easy Grilled chicken, baked potatoes and peas

Breakfast for dinner – pancakes, eggs and peaches

Beans and cornbread

Do you want an easy meal to serve for you Sunday meal?  I know I try to cook mostly from scratch, but I am not a purist so here is my super easy Enchilada Casserole meal from memory:

1 lb. of ground beef (or turkey)

2 cans of cream of soup (I use cream of chicken)

2 cans of enchilada sauce (if you want it a little hotter – use one red sauce and one green chili sauce can)

10 or so tortillas

1 cup of shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray a 9 x 13 inch pan.  Cook ground beef and drain.  Mix ground beef, cream of soup and enchilada in a pot and cook on medium until heated through and well combined.  Cut tortillas in half or fourths and arrange a layer on the bottom of the pan.  Ladle soup mixture followed by another layer of tortillas and keep layering until you end with a layer of tortillas at the top.  Top with shredded cheese and cook for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Easy!  Cook some corn and serve a salad and dessert.  You could also spread the tortillas with refried beans if you wanted to make it extra good.

Hope you all have a good week.  For more menu plans, please visit Laura at Org Junkie.

