Apple orchard and misc. 004

If you plan to make applesauce this year and in the years to come I want to suggest you invest in something.  I have talked about this before.  It is Lehman’s Best Food Mill.  I bought it after my friend from church let me borrow her’s.

Apple orchard and misc. 003

Having just made some applesauce over the weekend, I thought I would share a few tips to make things go faster.

This is what I did.

I washed the apples in cold water.   Here is where the tip comes in – I slice off the very bottom of the apple to make the apple sit straight.  I then use my apple wedger from Pampered Chef (although my friend has the Kitchenaid and I like her’s better).

apple wedgerI throw the slices into a pot and cook them until they are soft.  I then run it through my food mill and out comes my pink applesauce.

And do you have time for a quick story here?  My friend Kelly once told me that she was so embarassed when she took her mom’s homemade applesauce to school because it was pink and no one else had pink applesauce.  Now they color applesauce all kinds of colors so kids in school today probably would think that pink applesauce is cool.  I know I do.

Moving on, I then follow directions from here to can my applesauce.

Also, I actually read the directions for this food mill and it said that I could run tomatoes through there without cooking them.  You just have to slice the end off.  I tried it today and it worked beautifully.  It was so easy.

I HIGHLY recommend the Lehman’s Best Food Mill.  And I highly recommend homemade pink applesauce.

Please visit:

Tammy’s Recipes for more kitchen tips

Tempt My Tummy Tuesday at Blessed with Grace

Tasty Tuesday

