Blueberry stuff and monkey bread 011

Last week I found myself wanting something sweet.  Of course we don’t have sweets in the house mostly unless I make them.  I usually have my homemade chocolate chip cookie dough in the freezer, but we had eaten that all up.  I needed to go to the grocery store so I had no cocoa and no chocolate chips.  Arg, what was I to do?  Then I began to look through my church cookbook (Thanks Mt. Comfort Bible Church).  I found these cookies:

Blue Ribbon Peanut Butter Cookies

1 1/4 c. of flour (I used half whole wheat)

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 c. butter (or margarine if you must)

1/2 c. peanut butter

1/2 c. sugar

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp. vanilla

sugar

Stir together flour, soda and salt.

In a separate bowl, beat butter until creamy, then add peanut butter and sugars; beat well until fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla; beat well.  Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture and mix well.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls.  Roll in granulated sugar.  Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet and crisscross with fork tines until cookie is slightly flattened.

Bake at 375 degrees for approximately 10 minutes.  Cool about 1 minute before removing.  Best if cooled on a  wire rack.

Makes approximatley 48 cookies.

These were delicious.  One reason I love them is that you don’t have to use shortening.  I also have another bit of advice, don’t forget the peanut butter.  I had them rolled in sugar and I was ready to crisscross all of them when I realized I had forgotten the main ingredient.  I just smooshed them back into the dough and added the peanut butter and they still turned out good.

Happy Thursday!

