In an effort to think on things that are lovely, pure of good report (a loose interpretation of Philippians 4:8) I haven’t been watching the news.  I catch things going on now and then but I really have no idea what is happening in the world.  My husband fills me in on what I need to know mostly from The Drudge Report.  He told me about the swine flu and I laughed at him and said there was no such thing.  The day he told me we were grilling pork chops and I wondered if we shouldn’t eat them, but then he explained it to me further.

Well, if I happen to catch any news – ALL THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT IS THE SWINE FLU.  I did watch a snippet of Fox News this morning and they explained there had been ONE US death in Texas of a toddler which is horrible, but then no one seemed to know if this child was really from here or from Mexico and had just crossed the border.

So I am just going to live without knowing whether or not the swine flu has hit my town.  I am also not going to know how many people were shot in Indianapolis last night.  I probably won’t find out for several days that a prisoner has escaped or that a bank has been robbed.  Right now I am enjoying my blissful ignorance.

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.  Phillilpians 4:8

