I was contemplating why memorizing Scripture is a good idea.  There are so many reasons.  One is that the Bible says to know Scripture in several places.

Your word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You. Psalm 119:11

All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness,  2 Timothy 3:16

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.  Joshua 1:8

Another great reason to memorize Scripture is to know it and to be able to use it when you are going through hard times or to help someone else when they are going through hard times.  I can’t help but think of some of the verses I have been memorizing when I think of what Cari and Andy (you can read their story on their blog) have been through and what they are going through.  They are an excellent example of faith and their attitude continues to amaze me.

Phillipians 4:6-7 have come to mind a lot lately:

6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

I have been praying this a lot lately, for myself and for others.  It is another great reason to memorize Scripture.

I guess I should actually get to the verse we are to be memorizing for the week.  Still using the Navigators Topical Memory System:

Romans 3:23

For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.

I was thinking I should also post what verse we are memorizing with my son as well.  Here are the ones he has memorized so far:

A soft answer turns away wrath.  Proverbs 15:1

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the sons of God.  Matthew 15:9

Children obey your parents, for this is well pleasing to the Lord.  Colossians 3:20

This is the one we are working on for this week – couldn’t be more timely!

Do all things without complaining and disputing.  Philippians 2:14

