UPDATE: On Andy and Cari, the friends that I mentioned yesterday; please go to their blog to read the latest and then please pray!

*     *     *     *     *

We are still memorizing using The Navigators Topical Memory System.  This week’s verse is Romans 1:16:

For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek.

My son (who is turning 4 soon) has been memorizing verses using My ABC Bible Verses: Hiding God’s Word in Little Hearts by Susan Hunt.  Every week we go over the new verse everyday and we say it several times a day, in the car or wherever we are.  I go over the new verse first and then we say the past verses that he has learned.  So far this has not been a problem because he has only been doing it consistently for about 4 weeks.  I try to have him say his new verse to his dad and any grandparents that he might see in a week so he is used to quoting it and remembering it.

I recently found a wonderful idea on another blog.  The blog is called Raising Olives.  She has a great memorization system tutorial.  I have not made mine yet, but this is on my to-do list.

I have also started having him memorize catechism for young children similar to this one.  I am not Catholic, Lutheran or Presbyterian and I honestly don’t know very much about the catechism because well, I never learned it, but I think it is important for them to know the answers to these questions.  And when they get older I plan to have them look up the Bible verses to go with the answers to these questions.  I actually use another book by Susan Hunt called Big Truth for Little Kids.  We have just started this so I am not that far into it.

This is what we are doing so far.  It has been working, but I am always interested in what others are doing and what is working for them, so please leave me a comment and let me know what you do for memorization or how you teach your children to memorize.

