mpm1

I mentioned last week that I am gearing up for another OAMC session.  I have done my grocery shopping and I am using today as my prep day with my actual cooking being tomorrow.  I also said I would list my whole month of meals and I will do that Tuesday.  Today I will share my “Prep Day” list and my first week of menus.  You might also notice that my foods involve very little red sauce.  This is why I don’t have spaghetti or chili on my menu.  My husband has acid reflux so I try not to use much red sauce or spicy seasoning.   I also try not to use pre-packaged foods such as soup in a can.  I don’t think there is anything wrong with it, but I just try to make my food from scratch as much as possible.

As for my prep day list:

  • Cook ground beef – 6 lbs.
  • Cook and de-bone chicken
  • Chop carrots
  • Chop celery and onions
  • Cut up chicken for nuggets
  • Shred cheese (I buy my cheese in the block form)
  • Make rice
  • Make 4 pizza doughs
  • Make 24 tortillas
  • Thaw pepperoni
  • Thaw 2 1/2 lbs. of beef for meatloaf

oamc-014

As for my menu, here is Week 1 menu (as I said I will list the full month tomorrow in addition to my Assembly Day instruction list):

Alfredo Manicotti, green beans or a salad and some garlic bread

Meatloaf, baked potatoes and salad

Bombay Chicken, rice and broccoli

Cheeseburger Roll Up and Salad

Free day – either homemade pizza, eat out or freezer meal from my cooking club

Cheesy Beef and Rice, Corn and salad

Sundays will usually be  a crock pot day.  I have several roasts in my freezer after we got our cow last week (actually 1/4 a cow).   I will still bake once a week probably on Monday’s.  I am also simplifying breakfasts, lunches and snacks.

Breakfasts will be homemade granola (thanks to Tammy’s recipes), Baked oatmeal (which can be assembled the night before and stored in the fridge), pumpkin pancakes or waffles, bananas, applesauce, yogurt and blueberries or eggs and bacon.

Lunches will be leftovers, sandwiches, chicken nuggets (from my OAMC cooking session), salad, carrots, fruit.

Snacks will be applesauce, cottage cheese (only for my husband and daughter), apple and peanut butter or apple and cheese – you get the idea.

I couldn’t resist making these brownies today.  They are so yummy!

oamc-017

There it is, my menu for the week.  For more menu ideas, please visit Org Junkie.

