I talked about doing a pizza experiment to figure out what our favorite homemade crust will be.  I think I figured out my favorite sauce.  I have two that I do, but the second is probably my favorite.

Sauce #1 (similar to this one):

15 oz. can of tomato paste

1-2 T of olive oil

basil, garlic salt and sugar

Heat together in pan until heated through.  It is a little thick so you can add water if you want to thin it out.

My favorite sauce (I use it for spaghetti and pizza):

28-30 oz can of tomato sauce

12-15 oz. of tomato paste

Basil and Oregano

Garlic salt

Marjoram

Sugar

Since I don’t measure anything I would suggest you start with a teaspoon of each and taste the sauce and add more until you think it tastes good.  This is what I do.

Of course you can saute real garlic in the oil before you pour in the sauce if you would like to.  I am sure you can puree some veggies to add to it for more nutrition.  I don’t add meat to mine, but I am sure you could.

Now, onto the crust:

I have tried two this past week.  My tried and true crust that I can use anytime is this one that I use from 50’s Housewife.  It is quick and easy and good.

1 Tbsp. yeast
1 Cup warm water
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. vegetable oil or olive oil
2 1/2 Cups flour

I just dissolved the yeast in the water in my mixing bowl (I let it sit for 5 minutes), add the rest of the ingredients and mix.  I need it for just a minute or two.  Then roll out your dough and press into a greased pan and add toppings. Bake at 450 degrees for 12 to 15 minutes.

This one works every time!

My new pizza crust that I tried this week came from Tammy’s recipes.  These are her instructions:

Crust Ingredients:

3/4 cup water (110-115 degrees, preferably)
1 teaspoon sugar
2 Tablespoons butter, melted or very softened
2 1/2 cups flour
1 Tablespoon yeast

1. If using a bread machine to make pizza dough, put ingredients in bread machine in order listed and set to dough setting.

If making dough by hand, mix water, butter, and sugar in mixing bowl. Add part of the flour and stir. Add the rest of the flour and the yeast, and stir into a dough. Knead for 6-8 minutes, or until dough is smooth and elastic. Set dough in bowl and grease the top. Cover with a towel and set in a warm place to rise for about 45 minutes.*

2. After dough has risen the first time, punch down and knead until air bubbles are removed.

3. Liberally butter a 16-inch round pizza pan, and press dough onto pan. Carefully lift one-half of the crust and fold over (to expose half of the pizza pan). Sprinkle 1/2 Tablespoon cornmeal over pan. Lay crust back in place and repeat on other half, so that there is cornmeal sprinkled between entire layer of crust and pan.

5.** Place pizza in oven and turn heat to 400 degrees. Bake for 10 minutes; rotate crust and bake for an additional 5-10 minutes or until top is browned. (Be sure to watch so it doesn’t burn; every oven is different!)

I used my bread machine to make the dough.  It looked pretty good.  I think my mistake was pre-baking it on my pizza stone for 5 minutes before I put the toppings on:

pizza-tammys-recipe-0011

Well, after this I added my toppings.  My husband wasn’t home so we just made a cheese pizza for me and the kiddos.

pizza-tammys-recipe-002

I thought it looked pretty delicious and I do like my crust a little crispy but this wasy WAY beyond crispy.  I don’t believe it was the recipe.  I think it would have worked really well had I not prebaked it.  I am still learning to bake with my pizza stone.  It definitely makes things more crispy than my regular pizza pans.

My verdict is that I am definitely going to try this one again but this time I am NOT going to pre-bake and I am going to follow the directions (I am not always good at that).

Next week I will be trying at least one or two more new crust recipes.   I could have pizza twice a week (and I sometimes do).  Let me know your favorite crust recipes too!

I think I will try this pizza crust next week.

