works-for-me-wednesday-2I posted a while back about making your own laundry detergent.  I have had several questions and comments since then.  I have been making it for over 6 months now.  My husband’s aunt asked how in the world could this work since the Borax in the recipe is used in a load as a laundry booster and you put in 1/2 a cup for ONE load.  So I decided to do some investigation and experimenting (shocking I know).

I bought some essential oils and used that in my most recent batch.  I used the lavendar scent.  I doubled the amount of Borax and Washing soda that I used.  I found this to make the detergent a little thicker and I really like this way that I am making it.  So if you would like to, try a few drops to 1/2 t. of essential oils and then double the amount of Borax and Washing Soda in your original recipe.

I have also had someone tell me that they add about a cup or so of Oxyclean to the mixture.  I have not done this, but I am sure it would only help.  Let me know if you have tried this.  If not, I would encourage you to.

I still put 1/2 a cup of Borax into my loads that are extra dirty like my kitchen towels and my husband’s work clothes.

My mother-in-law also advised that you may want to wash your clothes in Tide or some other detergent every 3 months or so.  I have done this once.

I just wanted to post an update so you would know how it has been going.  I also killed burned out my last food process by grating my Fels Naptha soap in it so now I just use a vegetable peeler to peel it.  It is a little time consuming, but it is theraputic for me, and then my husband got me a new Kitchenaid food processor for Christmas so it wasn’t all bad – thanks honey!

