This week I have been doing some different things in the kitchen.  I made homemade appleasauce again and this time, I decided to make some apple butter with the applesauce.  Then, I canned it.  I didn’t have very much so I just water bath canned it.  Here are the jars:

Another item I tried was sourdough bread.  I had used my own starter.  I used a recipe from The Breadman’s Healthy Bread Book, but I realized it called for yeast after I had put my ingredients in the bread pan for my bread maker.  I thought the purpose of sourdough was that you didn’t use yeast so I have another starter going and am going to do this one by hand.  The ironic thing is that this loaf of bread turned out wonderfully and it was easy to slice and tasted a little more like store bough bread.

I also made homemade chicken pot pie this week (it was on my menu plan).  I used my pie crust that I had frozen earlier.  I cannot say enough good things about this pie crust recipe.  I don’t believe you can mess it up.  It is wonderful.  My husband loved it.  He said, “Did you make this yourself?”.  I told him I did.  He said, “You did the potatoes and everything.”  Um, yes I did.

Chicken Pot Pie
Chicken Pot Pie

I also tried Spelt bread this week from my bread maker.  Since I had never had it before, I had no idea what to expect.  I had read that it was a little denser than wheat bread and it was, but I thought it tasted good.

And this has nothing to do with food, but if you would please take a moment and visit my friend Cari’s blog.  It has been over a month since she lost her 8 month old baby girl.  Also, visit her sister-in-law’s blog for a wondeful post about the Cari and Andy. 

