If you saw last week’s post about my Aunt Jody’s Strawberry Pie, I promised that I would post her banana pudding recipe.  Well, I remember my cousin Chris telling me it was difficult to even get this recipe because she just throws some of this in and some of that and it comes out tasting wonderfully!  So I think he watched her one time and she tried to measure and came up with the following recipe:

2 cups sugar

2 Tbs. flour

4 cups milk

3 eggs

1 stick butter

1 tsp vanilla flavoring

1 box vanilla wafers

6 ripe bananas

First separate the 3 eggs, put the yokes in a small bowl and the whites in a larger one to use later.

Combine flour and sugar in a heavy large saucepan until well mixed, then add milk; you will need to whisk these together. Place over medium heat adjusting if need be. Cook until it begins to thicken, stirring and whisking almost continuously.

Take a small amount of the thickened hot filling and mix it into the egg yokes to temper them, then return this mixture to the pan and continue cooking until thick. Once the pudding is thick, take it off the stove and add the stick of butter and vanilla flavoring. Stir until the butter is melted; if too thick add a little milk at a time.

Place a layer of vanilla wafers in the bottom of your bowl, then 2 sliced bananas and about a third of the pudding.

I usually make about 3 layers.

If you use Meringue, just beat the egg whites until frothy, then add about 3 tsp sugar and beat until thick, put meringue on top all the way to the edges and place in a 350 degree oven until the top browns. Be careful, it burns easily. If you do not want meringue, just crush a few vanilla wafers over the top. Enjoy!


I have made this recipe and I thought that it tasted pretty good, but still not as good as Aunt Jody’s.

For more Kitchen Tips, please visit Tammy’s Recipes.

