Aunt Jody, Brooklyn (my cousin) and me

Aunt Jody, Brooklyn (my cousin) and me

I know it is a little late for strawberries but I had to tell you about my Aunt Jody’s strawberry pie.  It is the best thing you have ever tasted.  Well, except for my Aunt Jody’s banana pudding.  Oh, I just wish you could taste it.  She now makes 2 for everyone of our get togethers (or she sometimes does).  People get the pie and the pudding first before they get their food because they know if they wait too long – it will be gone!  Anyway, my Aunt Jody is a fabulous cook (yes, you are Aunt Jody)!  She is sweet and southern and loves having people over.  My husband LOVES going to her house.  Anytime he misses our get togethers he begs asks me to bring home a plate and I do try to do that.  Anyway, enough about that here is the pie recipe.  And if you are really good, next week I will give you the banana pudding recipe.

1 9 inch baked pie shell – cooled

3 oz. pkg cream cheese – softened

1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. lemon juice

1/2 cup whip cream – whipped

2 pints fresh strawberries – sliced

1 recipe strawberry glaze – or 1 pkg wichs glaze

Beat cream cheese, brown sugar, lemon juice, and vanilla until smooth.  FOLD IN whipped cream, spread evenly over cooled pie crust.  Chill about 2 hours.

Combine glaze and strawberries and spread on cheese layer.

Glaze Recipe

1 cup white sugar

1 cup water

2 TBS cornstarch

1/2 tsp. red food coloring

3 TBS. (dry) strawberry jello

Combine sugar and cornstarch and then add water.  Cook over medium heat until clear and thick, take off heat and add 3 TBS strawberry jello (Dry).  Let the glaze cool then mix with strawberries and spread.  Enjoy!

For more kitchen tip Tuesdays, please visit Tammy’s Recipes.

