I should start this by saying that I have a 3 year old son.  I love to get together with people who either have a boy that is under 2 or who have all girls.  They are most of the time, shocked at what a boy does.  You can definitely tell.  I am not one of those mothers that lets her son jump off of a couch and just say, “Well, he is a boy.” and then smile sweetly.  Yes, my son does jump off of couches but I do discipline him for it.  He is a boy and he has boundless energy even if he barely eats one thing all day.

My son was the sweetest little guy ever.  He was so good natured and calm.  I felt sorry for the mothers of boys who were rambunctious.  My son would never be like that, I thought.  He was calm.  Ha, then he turned 18 months and yep, he turned into a little boy.

People that have all girls just do not understand boys.  I’m sorry but they don’t.  And some people do have calm boys that stay calm well into childhood.  I’m not one of those people.  So I have my son run around the house when he needs to get energy out – or run outside!  Yes, I do let him jump on my bed (for shame!).  He is a boy.  He NEEDS to do the crazy things that boys do within reason.

I take it as a huge challenge to raise my rambunctious boy into a Godly man.  I am excited to see where life takes him.  I know I will continue to get those people who have no idea what it is like to have a boy and those people who only have well-behaved little girls, but I enjoy every minute of his life.  I am thankful God is teaching me how to handle to him.

Verses that we use daily are:

“A soft answer turns away wrath.”  He is VERY loud.

“Children obey your parents . . .”  He likes to do crazy things.

One we are learning is, “Even a child is known by his deeds.”

So, he is a work in progress, as we all are.  Next time you see a mom with one boy or even two and possibly three.  Smile at her and know that those boys are being molded into young men.  Pray for her as well.  She needs it!


