I am taking up Heidi’s challenge of Beans and Rice week.  Well, I am doing my own version. Since I am doing my OAMC this week, I need easy quick meals because by 5 pm I will be SICK of cooking.

Here is my plan:

Sunday:

Soak beans overnight.

Monday:

Cook Beans in the crock pot with turkey bacon and some coconut oil (instead of bacon grease or shortening) and I will probably have to add some onion powder, salt and pepper.  We will see how they taste.  My cornbread recipe is just simple.  I always bake my cornbread in a cast iron skillet because that is how my grandma did it.  We don’t do sweet corn bread with beans.

Tuesday:

I will puree leftover beans in the food processor and add some taco seasoning to them and make some bean nachos.

Wednesday:

I have some black beans in the freezer so I am going to try this Rice with Black Beans recipe.  I will serve it with some rolls I have in the freezer.

Thursday:

Moroccan Lentil Soup in the crock pot – we will try this.  I am just imagining what my husband will say.  I will save some of the beans from Monday and some of the veggies I have to cut up for other stews this week.

Friday:

We have a cook out outing for church – hay ride and smores!

For more Menu Plan Monday, visit OrgJunkie.

And just a quick note about this past week, if you would like to read a really good post about the passing of little Caden (our friend’s daughter from church), please go here.

