My friend Heidi picking apples

My friend Heidi picking apples

I had a brilliant idea to go and pick apples at an older gentleman’s house.  I brought two of my friends, we had 8 children under 3 years old between us.  We were able to pick as many apples as we wanted as long as we cleaned up our mess.  Well, we picked so many apples!  I think we overestimated how much time we would have to process them.  We got together 2 days later and made applesauce and we made apple pie filling to freeze.  I had a few more apples and I made some more apple pie filling today and I finally made a homemade pie crust.  I haven’t done this in several years.  So, I made my apple pie as healthy as I could.  Some of you have read that I am trying to change to whole, natural ingredients.

My son helping peel the apples

My son helping peel the apples

So, here is my apple pie recipe if you are interested.

Apple Pie Filling (from Ball Blue Book of Preserving with a little tweaking by me)

6 pounds of apples, peeled, cored and quartered

2 cups of Rapadura (instead of white sugar, but you can use white sugar)

1/4 cup of all purpose flour

1 teaspoon of cinnamon (you are suppose to add 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, but I didn’t have any)

Stir everything but apples together then add that mixture it to the apples and let sit about 30 minutes.  Cook over medium-low heat for about 20 minutes stirring occasionally.

Then I made my crust which I got from this recipe.  I was searching for a recipe that did not call for shortening and also incorporated whole wheat flour.  I also loved the tip she gave for using a pillow case.  It worked wonderfully.  It is weird, but I love making homemade pie.  Even better than making it is eating it.

I put the hot apple mixture into my pie crust and topped it with another pie crust.  I cut slits in the top pie crust and baked for about 25 minutes.  Make sure you put foil around the edges so they won’t burn.  I didn’t have to cook the pie as long because I had already cooked the apple pie filling.  I froze the leftover apple pie filling and the leftover pie crusts because that pie crust recipe made quite a bit.

The finished product

The finished product

So, you can see by the picture that I had to have one piece to make sure it tasted okay since I was using ingredients my husband wasn’t used to eating.

We thought the pie tasted very good and were happy with the results.

There are so many things to do with apples.  I enjoyed what Teresa at Handmade Daily did with some of her apples.  I am hoping to try that soon with my son.

So how do you like them apples?  I am sorry I just had to say that.

For more kitchen tips, please visit Tammy at Tammy’s Recipes.

