I always long for simpler days. I was just thinking about classic movies because I was talking with a friend from church. She named her cat Calamity Jane and I told her how much I loved that movie. And she said she loved it too. Then another lady said that she had never heard of it. So sad, because it is such a cute movie. I thought I might share with you some of my favorite classics.

The ones that everyone knows:

The Sound of Music – how can you not LOVE this movie?

Gone With the Wind (somewhat of a downer though)

Wizard of Oz

The Parent Trap (Haley Mills)

Marry Poppins (Julie Andrews)

Pollyanna

It’s a Wonderful Life (oh, how I love it)

To Kill A Mockingbird

Some you may not have heard of, but so worth checking out:

Calamity Jane (Doris Day)

Summer Magic (Haley Mills)

Imitation of Life (oh so incredibly sad and good)

Arsenic and Old Lace (Cary Grant)

Whatever Happened to Baby Jane (kind of dark)

The Trouble with Angels (Haley Mills)

The Little Princess (Shirley Temple)

Father of the Bride (original with Elizabeth Taylor)

To Sir With Love (Sydney Portier)

I have to end this with my favorite movie series that I loved as a young girl (and hope to watch with my daughter).  I don’t know if it is a classic, but it is worth mentioning.

Anne of Green Gables

So, please share with me some of your favorite classic movies. I have more which I may add later.  It is difficult to find a movie now that is clean with no profanity or sexual content.  The movies above are not perfect, but they are by far better than most movies that are made now.

