When I first got married I really wanted to make my own laundry detergent. I had read the Tightwad Gazette. I was so excited, but I never got around to making my own detergent. Well, that was eight years ago and I finally found all of the ingredients to make this detergent. I got my instructions from The Simple Dollar. Washing soda is really hard to find. But apparently I hadn’t looked very well at my local Kroger store. You can also order it online if you can’t find it locally.

These are the ingredients you start with. I looked all over for them and finally found all 3 at my local Kroger store.

This is what your “soup” looks like once you have added the shaved (or grated) soap to the water. My husband suggested I use the vegetable peeler and peel the soap into the water.

This is a picture of my son helping me stir.

Here is the finished product. Several other websites mentioned that it will actually look like an egg noodle soup. It does.

I have washed several loads of clothes with it today and they have come out clean so I am happy with this process.

And, it does not take that long to do. It takes about 20-25 minutes for the soap to disolve and then a few minutes to mix in the washing soda and borax and then just let it sit until the next day.

The cost: The Fels Naptha soap costs $1.29, the Washing Soda was $3.09 and the Borax was about $2.49. Considering you only use 1 cup of washing soda and 1/2 cup of Borax this was SUPER cheap!

I use one cup per load. According to Simple Dollar this amount will last about 48 loads.

Check out more Make It Yourself Ideas here.

